Regecting Social Media….

…because I was on a deadline.

Correction.  Because I was on multiple deadlines.

Addition.  Because I was on multiple deadlines and had rehearsals until 11PM.

Now before we all get excited and you assume I’m not still a Regected Riter, all of these writing deadlines are for unpaid things, self produced projects that I’m initiating throughout the City.

That’s write right.  Takeover. Small Fish in a Big Pond.

I’ll tell more about that later.

But in the meantime, I discovered that there was no longer enough time in the day and I could feel every moment passing by.  So I did the only thing I could do.

I put my gameface on

Social Media Lockdown.

I can’t say it was easy.  I could hear twitter calling to me.

It would say.

It would say, over and over again.

How would whether or not that hilarious random thought I had WAS hilarious?  I DID want to say hello to my friends.  My gameface began to falter like jello left out on a hot sidewalk in July.

Maybe I could go on for just five minutes….fives minutes wouldn’t hurt…

“That’s right,” Twitter said,

Just as my resolve was about to shatter, I suddenly remembered something. Something important.

ALL  MY FRIENDS ARE WRITERS! I shouted at my computer THEY’LL UNDERSTAND!

And I looked like this:

And twitter was all,

“First of all, you’re talking to a computer, crazy. Secondly,

And that is exactly what came to pass.

The moral of this story?  Well it’s quite simple, really.

If you have a deadline, stay off twitter. Twitter is evil ad wants your soul for its own.

Happy Writing, all!

 

24 comments on “Regecting Social Media….

  1. Joshua says:

    The same is true for NaNo. Evil fucking bird.

    • NaNoWriMo = About the most addictive, painful, joyous, ridiculous, tedious, amazing, terrible, evil, horrible, hurtful, stressful so worth it thing ever.

      Writing a blog AND NaNoWriMoing = Oh my god, my eyes just fell out because I’ve been spending the last eighteen hours on my VERY misorganized priorities.

      Success rate? 2 for 3.

  2. April Denton says:

    ZombieMom missed ZombieSon throughout Twitter lockdown, just so you know! 😛

  3. amandapoverseas says:

    Haha I try to stay off when I have something to do as well. If I think of something I want to say, I try to do what I need to and then reward myself by getting to say it when I finish (if I remember lol).

  4. LOL! Love it! My FB argues with me! That’s why I use two laptops. When I’m writing I use the laptop that doesn’t connect to the internet! 🙂

  5. I love the blog. It’s so quirky and fun, and reflects the feelings I have when I sit down to the computer and see the little facebook button on every damn webpage I visit. ARGGH social media!

  6. Elisa says:

    THIS is sooo funny! How can you be so hilarious–how! I LOVE it. When I got to the red bird–I seriously laughed so hard I nearly peed my pants.

  7. classywithatwist says:

    Social Media eats up my writing and homework time frequently. Checking Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, WordPress, and even email (yes, email) wastes a lot of time. Next thing I know it’s 11PM and I haven’t done anything. So obviously now is a good time to YouTube that song that’s stuck in my head. Then it’s suddenly midnight and I’m going to get next to no sleep tonight. Awesome.

  8. lizamartz says:

    It was only this weekend after I’d lot the power cord to my laptop that I realized I had become a twitter junkie. I thought for sure I’d lost all my friends when I missed #ff.

  9. fishducky says:

    This post (almost) makes me happy I’m old. I’m proud I’ve figured out how to use a computer–with lots of help from my son. I don’t use NaNo, Twitter or any of that other garbage–I mean help–out there. Would you believe my cell phone can’t even take pictures?

  10. Kelly Gamble says:

    Excellent advice, but I’m not very good at doing anything that is good for me. I missed you.

  11. melynda says:

    So you don’t want me to share this on twitter? lol I can’t figure twitter out anyway. Screw it. Glad you met your deadline. In fact I was just wondering if you had dropped off the face of the world. Good to know your alive my friend.

  12. Debra Kristi says:

    I totally get it. I have done the same thing. Fairly recently, in fact. I feel like I should do it again with as much progress I have been making on my MS lately. Ugh! Sometimes you got to do what you got to do. We will be here when you come back.

  13. Jan Simson says:

    Hahah nice. I should go and delete my Twitter account now. Awesome post! Cheers.

  14. melynda says:

    Just read your comment on my blog I laughed so hard. Here’s my return comment to you my friend.
    I MISSED YOU TOO! DON’T EVER STAY GONE THAT LONG AGAIN.
    Now that my yelling finger is worn down to the nub I hope your proud of yourself! lol

  15. zencherry says:

    (Hugs and swats bird out of the air) Now go take over whatever it is that’s just waiting on you to be its Master of the Universe. King of Twitterverse throne will still be there when you’re ready.

    Besides, my butt was getting sore from falling out of my chair laughing at your tweets/blog/etc. 😉

  16. Marcie says:

    Yay for your willpower. I’m going to try to regect Twitter for the rest of this week as I work on a presentation for Friday.

  17. Adeel Salman says:

    FINALLY… missed your posts… love this one as always 😀

  18. Megan says:

    Welcome back.

    Reading blogs sucks my productive time away.

    But they feed my soul…

  19. Publius Americus says:

    Thank goodness. I was beginning to think my only subscriber had taken a powder.

    We look forward to seeing the fruits of your labor.

  20. I can’t believe this is the first time I’ve visited your blog. How cool is this? Love your stick figures. Amazing how much expression you can get out of them. You are very funny!

  21. Elise Andrews says:

    Oh, thank God you’re back… it’s been excruciating….

    your favorite stalker… 0:)

  22. Alejandra says:

    I just gave twitter a second chance. I couldn’t get into the first time around. Now, I’m tweeting at work, and I can’t stay focused on work!! I find myself throwing my Blackberry across my desk (and the trash can, once) when my boss comes into my office! Evil Twitter.

  23. Saronai says:

    I more than understand, in fact, I feel a little less guilty about my own severe cutbacks with twitter. I went through much the same thing when I first resisted tweeting random stuff or just logging in to say hello…except I had hair…still do.

Leave a comment