Regecting Rejections: The Do It Yourself Story

If you’ve been following me on the twitter (@RegectedRiter, all!), you may have noticed that I sound like this:

 

That’s because I have a Workshop/Reading this weekend of a play that I’ve written.

WOOOOOOOOOO!

Who’s producing it, I hear you ask! Is it the same production team that produced that smash Broadway Hit SPIDERMAN?!

Even better!  It’s ME!

I am so competent.

What does a producer DO exactly?  We book the spaces, negotiate some deals, sign the checks and wave our money bye bye

*Please Note* This only applies to those producers who Regect Rejection – in the real world, producers don’t put their own money into things, they raise it.

So AG, I hear you ask again, Who’s directing this theatrical event of the moment?  Is it MARTIN SCORSESE?!

Nah, I like to give up and coming directors a chance to direct.

But none of them wanted to, so I actually chose ME!

Yes, I am directing my own work, which I’ve actually never done before.  I have directed a lot and often, but never my own babies!!!! my work.

All right, AG, I can hear you say as you shake your heads, Give it to me straight. Do you at least have the cast of the latest Muppet Movie for your actors?

No, they were too busy with personal appearances and interviews to participate and I was also told to stop calling their hotel rooms because it was bordering on stalking.

But I bribed some friends with coffee, donuts and pizza and they agreed to be my actors!

What, we don’t have a picture?  Because I’m too lazy to draw a picture of five brilliant, talented actors?  Sounds about right.

So, why would I spend amounts of money, time and energy into producing a one day workshop/reading that ten people, including my parents, are going to attend?

Simple answer: Because I want to

Slightly More Complex answer: Because getting a regection letter in the e-mail doesn’t mean I can’t work on my plays and make me a better playwright, yo!  I can still get a group of people together to read and play with my writing to a small audience that will offer helpful feedback so I could continue writing and growing as a playwright!

That’s why I say

I REGECT YOU, REJECTION! I take that J and turn it into A G!

And that’s what all youse should do, too.

Tell me, what projects (or progects) do you have on your agenda?  I wantstaknow!

 

23 comments on “Regecting Rejections: The Do It Yourself Story

  1. Adeel Salman says:

    awesome love it… totally loved it… this is amazing 🙂

  2. zencherry says:

    AG!! Fantastic news! You must videotape this and I’ll even pay admission to watch since I can’t come up there and do it all official zencherry is in de hoooouse sort of way.

    PROUD of YOU!!! 😀

  3. I just adore your attitude. Rolling your sleeves up and getting it done yourself. After all, rejection letters are merely THEIR opinion. And why does that matter? Create! Do! Grow! Nobody needs to hold us back!

  4. Russ Nickel says:

    Sticking it to the man!

  5. PLEASE video tape at least part of the performance for us to see! 🙂

  6. You’re so funny, AG!!! I can always count on getting happier just by clicking on your blog. 😉 Iam totally looking forward to seeing your play! 😀

  7. fishducky says:

    I would never regect you, AG.Indeed, I regoice that you will regoin your friends & family (all 10 of them) . Oh, what a reguvenating experience that will be!

  8. Liz says:

    I am very, very proud of you and I think this is a great idea. But ease off of Spidey a little 😉 Protecting its image is my day job.

  9. Debra Kristi says:

    Oh my gosh! Totally epic! You have to let us know when it’s running. I’m now where near but that doesn’t mean I won’t try to jump a train. 😀

  10. Kelly Gamble says:

    I love you, AG. You are an amazing person, even if you are just a stick figure. I have too many projects on my plate, but if I were near, I would gladly volunteer my acting abilities to your project. I guess that is easy for me to say, since I live a bazillion miles away. Please keep us posted! I know a lot of people in your area, and you might find more than ten people at your production.

  11. whosravennow says:

    Bravo, I am sure it will get a standing O. Hey and then you can take it on the road! Post it on youtube, you never know! LOL. I give it two thumbs up..

  12. Krystal Wade says:

    I’m so used to rejection with a g because of your posts, I actually see it that way now. Good luck to you!!

  13. emmiemears says:

    Can I have this blog post to inject into my veins for the next oh, 53 days or so?

    You asked about current projects…well. I have two novels done (1 and 2 in a trilogy), and I am working on polishing up Book 1 enough to pitch to agents in January when I go to the Writer’s Digest Conference in New York. Which means I have about 50 days to restructure, tighten up, and texture up this book and make it palatable. I think it’s got some good potential, but it will take some doing to make it really shine. I also would love to have Book 3 at least halfway done (at the very least, prolifically outlined) by the time I go.

    I knows, I knows…that’s a lot. But it seems like you, AG are more than familiar with creatively yanking up the sleeves and digging in.

  14. Talk about rejection letters. Bottom line: Some of the greatest writers/artists were thoroughly rejected at first. Great you are not allowing yourself to be thwarted. I did something similar with my novel — literally did the layout of the book and published it myself and am now in the throws of promoting it. That’s an adventure in itself. All the best with your current project — I admire your ability to believe in your work.

  15. Blogdramedy says:

    Does drinking coffee then slacking off all day count as a project? 😉

  16. essien118 says:

    My project right now is to stop procastinating and author mah blog. Oh, and work on stage fright as I have to perform in a orchestra tommorrow. Oh and finish homework.

  17. melynda says:

    Poo I never get to have any fun. Sigh. I’d be in one of your plays. True I’m not as hot as Jennifer Aniston or Miss Piggy, but I gots me some mad skills. Ok maybe not, but it would be fun. I don’t have any project at the moment because I’m giving up on writing (except my blog) I believe I may have isuckyitis right now. LOL

    • zencherry says:

      I’ve read some of your writing melynda. I’d say you have the youthinkyousuckyitisbutyoureallydon’tsyndrome I hear sugar cookies and hugs are the cure for it and with that recipe you put up the other day and the cute little kids in the pictures making it, I’d say you’re most of the way to a complete recovery. So here: (HUGS) another hug for you just to put you over the top. Now go write that book. 😉

  18. minlit says:

    Hold on…Youse? Are you from Belfast???
    Either way, sounds like a good plan.
    Encore.

  19. Sheryl Brown says:

    Absolute best of luck. Full of admiration. Hope you can post up a video link. 🙂 x

  20. Jessie says:

    love this post-hilarious! hope it went well! sometimes it’s most fufilling to do it all yourself because your talent can only be strengthened.

  21. kasturika says:

    Hope the event went smooth 🙂 Best of luck for the year ahead

  22. Marcie Hill says:

    I don’t know how I missed this one. I love it! I pray to be in a position next year to help fund some of your productions. Thanks for sharing yourself with us.

Leave a comment