I have a theory:

Every writer is insecure.

(I didn’t say it was very complex.)

Sure, I know I look like this most of the time:

But most of the time I actually feel like this:

All blurry and poorly drawn.

Truth is, if you’re a writer, every word you pen is a piece of yourself that you’re ripping from your skin and putting on display for people to look at under a microscope and analyze the crap out of.

It’s like you’re fingerpainting with your soul every time you write.  Each word you leave behind is a fingerprint, after all.

BUT writing is a business and it is a business of Judgement in a world where people like to point out flaws.

I mean, here’s just a common example between – we’ll call them A and B

A: Oh, hey B, how’s it hanging?

B: Beautifully, no complaints

A: Awesome.  Hey, have you seen K?

B: Yeah, ran into him at the market the other day.

A: Yeah…Hey, can we just be real for a minute.

B: Sure

A: I mean, K’s a really great laugh at a party and it’s kinda cool that he’s worth so much in scrabble

B: And he’s not completely worthless like X

A: Right? But…what’s the use of K

B: YEAH! I mean, C really takes care of the CAH sound

A: He’s really just stealing jobs away from C

B: And then, and then as if that’s not good enough, he’s got to go and be a silent bastard!

A: But only sometimes!

B: He doesn’t do anything anybody else doesn’t already do!

A: Just taking up space

B: I know UGH look, I can’t bleieve I just used him in a sentence, you wouldn’t even kn…REALIZE if you weren’t reading

A: Right!

B: RIGHT.

A:….hey B, you seem rounder than usual

B: SHOVE IT UP YOUR A

nnnnnnnnyway,

See, even letters judge and point out flaws.
It’s the nature of words.

This is the business of rejection.  The business of flaw-finding.  And because these words are your soul, it’s always personal. And that leads to insecurities.

Listen, C isn’t as great as A and B made him CraCked up to be.  We all know that, right?  I mean, one can make the argument, why do we need C?  Sometimes he’s a soft sound, like an S and sometimes he sounds like a K, so isn’t C just taking jobs away from K?!  Something tells me that when A, B and C aren’t working, they’re all hanging out together and shooting the breeze and C brought up those points against K.  Poor K didn’t have a chance to defend himself.

And so is the same in this business of writing.

That’s why I say SCREW JUDGEMENT AND REJECTION!  And why I spell my regection with a g- because I’m embracing it and making it my own.

As should everyone.
As should you.

Just want to shout out and say THANKS to Alex who created the Insecure Writer’s Support Group of which this blog was written for.  Check it, and all the blogs, out.

30 comments on “I have a theory:

  1. April Denton says:

    “It’s like you’re fingerpainting with your soul every time you write. Each word you leave behind is a fingerprint, after all.”
    Absolutely love it! With your permission AG I want to make that a write quote of the day. 🙂

  2. Elisa says:

    I’m insecure about my insecurities. lol
    But you’re right, I should embrace them and just “screw it.” :0) Great advice!

  3. Adeel Salman says:

    THIS IS AWESOME… I HAVE READ IT THREE TIMES… AND LOVED IT EACH TIME

  4. That was fantastic! I laughed so hard. Thank you! 🙂

  5. I have a whole new viewpoint of the letter K now. Also I would like to say how awesome it is to find someone with the same artistic drawing abilities as myself.

  6. Isis Rushdan says:

    April quoted the exact lines that struck me. Here I had one image of you and now you’ve shown me a completely different side. I wanted to sit down and have coffee with you before, oh I forgot I’m on the wagon again so I meant tea, but now I actually want to have lunch with you, too. Or at least a sandwich or brownie over tea :).

    Great post!

    • April Denton says:

      It is an amazing line! AG is absolutely hilarious, but that line is so deep. It profoundly effected me and the way I think about writing and AG! 🙂

  7. Beautifully written. I agree with April, I love that quote. It is exactly how I feel when I’m writing. Thanks for putting it so eloquently. Great blog!

  8. AG says:

    Told youse I was a good writer :-P. Sincerely though, thank you.

  9. You’re right – we try not to take it personal, but since we created those words, it still feels personal.

  10. AG you are absolutely freaking fabulous!! I loved it all! You make valid points – we each need to take regection not as a sign of failure but as a success. A success that someone read us and was willing to say no and hopefully a thank you at the end (ie No, thank you.) . There are writers that don’t even get that much these days. Beautifully written! Kudos!! Oops Cudos 😉

  11. Elise Andrews says:

    AG, I adore your writing!! NEVER stop!

  12. Liz says:

    LOL!!! Omg you kill me. Love that convo.

  13. LOL…I got a rejection for a short story, this week. I know, right? Boo. Thanks for the pick-me-up!

  14. A is an ass 😛 How dare they pick on K like that. K is the silent killer in KNIGHT! It’s silent, and it goes with the ‘night’. It’s a ninja 😛

    Anyways, I did have a point…. Oh yea, I agree with you. Screw judgement. If you’re happy with your writing then what does it matter? That should be the first goal in writing anything – write it for yourself.

  15. I’m definitely learning how to embrace it. The conversation cracked me up. Thanks for the giggle.

    And thank you for stopping by my blog. I’ll be stopping by here often 😉

    http://donna-realworldwriting.blogspot.com/

  16. Crystal says:

    And again you blew me away! I love the way you’re able to mix heartfelt honesty with humour and make it all your own. My favourite part was the convo between A and B… Poor K! I know K will get its comeuppance!!! Snotty letters…. 😉

  17. Elisa says:

    P. S. Thanks for your awesome comment on my blog today. You summed up the entire point of my blog. Thanks for making my day.
    -E

  18. Krystal Wade says:

    Love it. Am following you now. And I’m not old…just sayin.

  19. That second picture is so much like me, although I aspire to the first. I manage rejections by always having several more markets to submit my work too, so that when a piece comes back, I think ‘Oh good, I can send that to X now’.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting.

  20. melynda says:

    Nicely written! Thanks for stopping by yesterday!

  21. Marcie Hill says:

    As usual, you made my day. And yes, we are all insecure writers. Luckily, we connected and I have your site to help during my down times.

  22. Rejection sucks and we’re not going to take it anymore!

  23. Love that dialogue. Hilarious. And the stick people. Awesome. (I know it’s not the 80s anymore, but I’m having a flashback (or flashdance) with the word tonight!)

  24. I think this is the most original post I’ve read on this topic, thank you for making me smile 🙂

  25. minlit says:

    ‘I have a theory’….Possibly the most beautiful phrase in the world, if you don’t count ‘You worry you die, you don’t worry, you still die.’

  26. kasturika says:

    Absolutely brilliant!!! Love the blog 😀

Leave a Reply

